Florence Foster Jenkins (2016)

Watched:  2/28/2017

I love movies based on true stories , that are outrageous and you feel like no one could come up with it, if it wasn’t in fact real.  Florence was such an interesting person ,as were those around her that supported her ambitions no matter what.  You get the sense people were fond of her, and as the audience we become fond of her.

Florence Foster Jenkins ( Meryl Streep) was a socialite who wanted nothing more than to be a great opera singer despite having absolutely no talent nor self awareness that she sounded terrible.  Those around her, mainly her husband, St Clair Bayfield (Hugh Grant) go along with the farce.  They hire a pianist named Cosme (Simon Helberg) and prepare for a concert at Carnegie Hall.  Cosme of course questions what they are doing but in the end he also becomes part of the ruse to protect Florence from the truth.  St Clair would routinely pay off the critics for good reviews but he encounters one who refuses, setting off events they can’t come back from.

I enjoyed this movie.  It was heartwarming and a little sad.  Meryl Streep is amazing as Florence, she really went for it with the singing, since we already know she’s actually quite a good singer.  Hugh Grant is so good, I felt like I missed him and that I was watching an old friend.   The relationship between Florence and St Clair is complicated, he seems to deeply care about her but he also has a girl on the side and they live apart.

I wish I had as much ambition as Florence, she was an unapologetic go getter.  I mean I even struggled to write this little write-up a month later.  I really admired her for wanting what she wanted and trying to get it.  As a side note I watched this by myself and at times my children wandered into the room.  This resulted in both a ten-year old and a one year old mimicking Florence’s singing voice.  What a treat for my ears!

 

Leave a comment