Southside With You (2016)

Watched: 2/19/2017

Southside With You is a sweet and refreshingly short movie about the supposed first date between Barack and Michelle Obama.  Even though Michelle insists that this is not a date, it’s pretty clear Barack thinks and wants it be.  They are played by Tika Sumpter and Parker Sawyers.  I really felt that Parker Sawyers captured the earnestness and charm of Barack while, I struggled a little believing Tika Sumpter as Michelle, only because I really like the real Michelle so much and Sumpter is a little less fun.

It’s an interesting take on the former first couple. Knowing where they end up and who they become, it’s fun to watch their early relationship.  Barack smokes a lot, which we know he won’t stop until many years later.  Michelle doesn’t want him paying for her sandwich, girl power!  My absolute favorite part is while in a park there are drummers and Michelle starts dancing with a little girl.  There is the fun Michele we know from Fallon!  And while she dances with abandon, Barack stays on the sidelines watching her, conveying how much he admires and only has eyes for her.  I’d like to believe that look originated as early as their first date.

I really liked this movie because I really liked this couple.  It would work as a cute movie about a first date regardless that it is about the Obama’s.  I’d like to see more from Parker Sawyers, he really captured the essence of Barack beautifully.

 

PS the struggle to find a picture for this post is ongoing, the struggle is real.

Leave a comment